1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

4.0 out of 5 starsExcellent rock that hasn't dated, May 12, 2008

By 

Timothy P. Scott (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  

This was first released in 1976, and it is such a strong work that frankly it sounds fresh and powerful even today, more than 30 years later. I bought "French Kiss" after this and it was a terrific disappointment. I don't remember Big Towne 2061 all that well and I think my LP of it is long lost.

I haven't heard this particular disc which is touted as a "remaster" but it is tempting to spend the $[...] and check it out. The sonics of the original are surprisingly good.

Finally a note about [...] to compare it with Led Zeppelin is as bizarre as you can get ("Bob Welch tackles the roles of Robert Plant and Jimmy Page by himself in this Led Zeppelin knockoff.") If that's the case, every rock band in which the singer plays lead guitar qualifies as a "Led Zeppelin knockoff". If you ignore the lyrics, vocal style, arrangements, guitar playing and everything about the production, you could say that it sounds just like Led Zeppelin. Why not compare it to
Cher or the Little River Band? Sarcasm aside, it's good solid rock and you could imagine Fleetwood Mac going in this direction if they decided to get harder edged rather than going the 80s mega-production style...

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 starsParis will leave you "Breathless", April 9, 2007

By 

blueline 55 "Andy" (USA) - See all my reviews

This is one hard rockin' band. Short lived is an understatement. Every song is a gem and have not gotten old after all these years. Great riffs and excellent bass playing and drumming. I cannot compare them to any other band as they have a distinct sound all their own. If you still love 1970's hard rock then you will not be disapointed with this purchase.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

4.0 out of 5 starsMust have, June 1, 2006

By 

AnttiL (Finland) - See all my reviews

This is "must have" record for Glenn Cornick, Wild Turkey etc.
collectors/enthusiast.
Music style/genre is: good energetic rock and some nuances from
early Fleetwood Mac, Led Zeppelin.
Booklet is ok, contains lyrics, not band information.
Check also Paris - Big Towne, 2061

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

3.0 out of 5 starsA Different Welch, January 25, 2006

By 

Pete P (minnesota) - See all my reviews

I first got the album around 1980 and liked it right from the
start. This is the hardest bob welch ever rocked, and he pulled it off. musically anyone who likes hard rock should like this
cd. the lyrics are a little out there, but this album is about the music. the best tracks are black book and narrow gate. A solid hard rock album

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 starsUnderrated and fabulous, July 8, 2003

By 

Mandjb (Soquel, CA United States) - See all my reviews

This is a great album which never really saw the light of day. Bob Welch had shown a lot of songwriting skills with Fleetwood Mac (i.e. Miles Away on Mystery to Me) and here he again wrote great songs with much more powerful arrangements.

Don't miss this!!

Bob's later work, such as French Kiss which made him popular for a while, was pop pablum and paled in comparison.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 starsParis Live, July 1, 2002

By 

"johnimro" (PITTSBURGH, PA United States) - See all my reviews

I had the Pleasure of seeing Bob Welsh and Paris live when Paris first did a US tour in 1975. It was in an obscure theatre in Youngstown Ohio. It was a full sound emanating from a highly polished ensemble and not embellished with "techno tricks" of the time as one reviewer stated. Apparently he or she was unaware that they ever toured.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 starsCool, Dark & Elegant, November 8, 2001

By 

Bentley Grey (USA) - See all my reviews

This album,underneath the phase shifters(which are cool), is very dark,soulful and haunting with lyrics that are actually thought provoking. The music still lingers with me today...It is not mainstream which is why I was surprised that everyone I've played it for loved it. It is better and has a harder edge than Bob Welch's "French Kiss". I've been searching for this album on CD for years. This is the "other" side of Bob Welch...a great guitarist, superior vocalist, and extroadinary lyricist. The songs, Black Book, Religion and Narrow Gate are alone worth the price of this album. The other songs are a bonus.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 starsLost Classic Found!, August 30, 2001

By 

El Kabong - See all my reviews

Some of us have been waiting 20-plus years for PARIS to re-emerge from the mists, with good reason. This is a PHENOMENAL album! A brief recap: Bob Welch leaves Fleetwood Mac and forms a Zep-like hard rock band with Tull's Glenn Cornick & drummer Thom Mooney. The stated intention is "to rock, but with depth", and that they do - in spades. Rumored to have been produced by Page himself under a pseudonym (bear in mind there are MANY untrue rumors regarding Page and this might be one). The rumor probably got started after somebody heard the album, which has the Zep production sound down to a T. Too bad Bob Welch didn't go further with this, because he turns out to be an outstanding heavy-rock songwriter (his lyrics are far better than Plant's); the tracks on PARIS are short but skillfully crafted, and powered by ear-grabbing heavy riffs and stick-to-your-frontal-lobe melodies. "Nazarene", "Black Book", "Red Rain" and "Beautiful Youth" - great songs all - are just four random reasons to buy this. Plus that ever-present streak of erudite cheekiness that Welch has always brought to his music is of course present as well. A stone classic too long neglected...now howzabout a domestic reissue with some bonus material appended to the original lp's worth of tracks?

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment

 

 

3 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

2.0 out of 5 starsFinally re-issued!, April 13, 2001

By 

eveoflove (North York, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)  

Made in EU in 2000, Serial# ZCRCD-56, Playing Time 40:18

Originally released back in 1976, this is the band's first of 2 albums, and features Bob Welch (of FLEETWOOD MAC and solo fame), Glenn Cornick (of JETHRO TULL fame) and Thom Mooney (of Todd Rundgren's NAZZ fame).

For those looking to replace their vinyl copy (like me), it was only available on CD as a japanese import (back in 1991).

It's amazing how this trio created music that was so over-produced (one might say "pompous") yet musically challenging. The musical direction is completely unexpected and the only foothold to the listener is Welch's voice.

I highly recommend it for the completists, because it has some very interesting sections: lots of sound layers and some extensive effects, actually impossible to re-create on stage if they ever attempted to: you would think this was a 5 or 6-piece band. And that's probably why I'm not really fond of the album: it sounds full of tricks, like a sonic illusion where the feelings are being replaced by the technology of those days...

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews  

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

 

Report this | Permalink

Comment Comment